European Economic Area Agreement Members

2021 April 9

EEA countries that are not part of the EU do not contribute to the EU`s objectives to the same extent as their members, although they contribute to “reducing social and economic disparities in the EEA”. In addition, some choose to participate in EU programmes such as the Trans-European Networks and the European Regional Development Fund. Norway also has its own aid scheme for Norway. [70] Following the 2004 enlargement in the EU/EEA, the financial contribution of EEA states, in particular Norway, to the social and economic cohesion of the internal market has increased tenfold (EUR 1167 million over five years). [Citation required] The right to free movement between EEA Member States and the relevant safeguard provisions are identical to those of EU Member States. [9] [10] The law and rules applicable in all EEA Member States, including those not members of the UNION, are defined in Directive 2004/38/EC[10] and in the EEA agreement. [9] The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of 27 countries. It operates an “internal market” that allows the free movement of goods, capital, services and people between Member States. The EEA agreement came into force on 1 January 1994. It aims to strengthen trade and economic relations between the contracting parties and focuses on the four fundamental pillars of the internal market, namely the free movement of goods, people, services and capital.

The availability of comparable statistical data is considered relevant to the four freedoms and is therefore included in the agreement. The EEA is made up of all EU member states and: Which are the 27 EU countries? What is EEA and EFTA? And which countries are members of the Schengen area? See the list of countries below. When the EEA came into force in 1994, there were 17 states and two European Communities: the European Community, which was later integrated into the enlarged EU framework, and the European Coal and Steel Community, which no longer exists. The number of members has increased to 30 in 2020: 27 EU Member States and three of the four EFTA Member States (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway). [8] The agreement will be applied provisionally to Croatia – the rest and the youngest EU Member State – until all parties to the EEA have ratified its accession. [4] [13] The United Kingdom is, on a temporary basis, a member of the EEA on 31 January 2020 and has joined a transitional period until 31 December 2020.

Comments are closed for this entry.